stories, lessons, and a lot of nonsense

Jakob isn’t very interested in taking naps, and he’s not afraid to say it.  Even when he’s asleep, if you ask him if he wants to take a nap, he scrunches his face, shakes his head, and emphatically tells you, “no.”  It’s cute and hilarious.  When he’s awake, when we ask him if he wants to take a nap, he will either tell us that he doesn’t, or he’ll ask if he can sleep in our bed. That’s what he asked yesterday, so I said he could.  But then he wouldn’t sleep.  It was family nap time, since Sarah and I both wanted to sleep, but Jakob kept getting up and moving around.  It was quite disruptive to sleep, so I sent him to his bed.  With great objection, he went.

When I woke up, I went in to check on him and give him a hug.  Only I didn’t see him anywhere.  I went to make sure the door was shut and locked, as it should have been, and it was.  He was somewhere inside.  I just had to find him.

No sight of him when I walked in the room.

His empty bed. Still no sign of feet sticking out anywhere.

I think I see something back there.

There he is! Cuddled up between the head of his bed and the wall.

I guess he really meant it when he said he didn’t want to sleep in his own bed. All options were better.

Leave a Reply

