stories, lessons, and a lot of nonsense

a good mom

I have a good mom.  I’ve always known that she is a good mom.  And even though I thought I really appreciated her for what she’d done, I now understand that I couldn’t fully appreciate her, because I didn’t understand.  I didn’t understand, because she never sat me down and explained how all consuming my siblings and I were.  But you’ve met me, and there are three more like me, all equally difficult to deal with in our own way – except Steve, who set the standard for difficulty – so you have to know that raising us was not a walk in the park.  Having kids myself has allowed me to see my mom’s struggle and pains through Sarah’s motherhood, and even then, I’m only observing, not experiencing it on their level.  But I do get a decent picture, as Sarah is also a great mom and just the right mom for our kids.  There’s no one else that could do the amazing job she does.

So what makes my mom and Sarah good moms, anyway?

Love.  You can take 1 Corinthians 13:4-6, replace the word “love” with Sarah’s name or my mom’s name, and you wouldn’t feel like you were lying your way through it.  That is not to say that they are perfect and never step outside that, but their consistent character reflects the love described in these verses.  Try it with your name.  Does it work?

Love is patient and kind; love does not envy or boast; it is not arrogant or rude. It does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful; it does not rejoice at wrongdoing, but rejoices with the truth. Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.

Sacrifice.  There are certain things I suppose you do not or cannot do once a child enters your life, particularly if you choose to take on a servant leader role like Jesus.  Philippians 2 tells us to have the same mind in us that Christ had when He humbled Himself and cared more for us than His position, and they do.

Godly.  Timothy was a young man who helped turn the world upside down for Christ, as the church started and began to spread.  His father was not a believer.  You know who was?  His mom and grandma.  That’s through whom he learned the truth.  Now, my dad is a believer, and I am a believer, but just Timothy benefitted from the Godly example set by his mom, so did I, and so do my sons.  My mom was a stay at home mom, and so is Sarah, so they were the primary spiritual influences in their children’s lives while the dads were working elsewhere, outside the home.  That does not diminish my dad’s impact on me, nor does it take away the impact I’m having on my sons, but it shines light on the powerful impact a mom can have.

These are just a few things that make them great.  I could write pages on it, but I will not, not for you, anyway.  I’ll try to be sure to share more with them personally.

What do you think makes a mom a good mom?

Leave a Reply

