stories, lessons, and a lot of nonsense

make every effort

It seems to be increasingly difficult to be connected to people. I think social media helps/hurts that cause to some extent.  It’s easy to fool others, and maybe even yourself, into thinking that you are staying connected with other Christians.  Social media takes minimal effort, which is probably the most popular level of effort in our society.  I know I like minimal effort.  I will spend more time thinking about how I can do something more quickly and with less effort that I would take if I would just do some things the long way right away (e.g. my homework).

I think it’s also easy to justify not making a more intense effort to stay connected to other believers by looking at ways they have wronged us, inconvenienced us, hurt us, or whatever.  I know it is easy for me to think that way, but it’s a revealing way to think.  It reveals a sense of pride and a lack of love in my heart when I’m not forgiving others or I am withdrawing from them.  The heart thought is, “you have wronged me, and because I love me so much, I will not allow you to wrong me again.”  It’s a me-focused, prideful position to disconnect from someone for minor offenses and inconveniences. Instead, out of love and humility, we should be making allowances for someone else’s faults.

Ephesians 4:1-3 says, “Therefore I, a prisoner for serving the Lord, beg you to lead a life worthy of your calling, for you have been called by God. Always be humble and gentle. Be patient with each other, making allowance for each other’s faults because of your love. Make every effort to keep yourselves united in the Spirit, binding yourselves together with peace.”

The calling on Christians is to live worthy of Christ’s calling on our lives.  It begins with humility.  It includes patience, forgiveness, and making allowances, because it’s rooted in love.  It involves making every effort to stay united – not minimal or nominal effort – making peace, and moving forward.  Are you making every effort to stay united?

Leave a Reply

