stories, lessons, and a lot of nonsense

There’s a Time

One thing I love about living in Michigan is having all four seasons. When we lived in Florida, it did not feel like we had four seasons.    Everything was close to the same to me. If it wasn’t too hot for me at the beginning of the day, I knew it would be too hot for me by the end of the day.   I missed having a crisp fall. I even missed the cold and snow of winter.  By the end of a long Summer, which is usually way too hot for my liking, I really look forward to and appreciate cooler weather. And by the end of winter, I grow tired of the bitter cold and look forward to a little warmer weather. As seasons change, I welcome the change.

Life moves in seasons, too. Some are extreme and uncomfortable, some seem perfect and relaxing.  Some are joyful, while others are sorrowful. Not all seasons of life will be the same, and we shouldn’t expect them to be. I don’t always appreciate the difficult seasons in my life, but when I pass through them into a more enjoyable season, they do cause me to appreciate the next season more. When I am in a difficult time in life, I always look forward to a particular time or season that I know will be better.  I hold out hope for a better time, hopefully this side of Heaven.

I don’t know what season your life is in, but if it’s not going so well, be encouraged. God is not missing in action. He’s moving and working, and hopefully soon you’ll be in the next season, appreciating it even more when you compare it to the last one.

“For everything there is a season, and a time for every matter under heaven: a time to be born, and a time to die; a time to plant, and a time to pluck up what is planted; a time to kill, and a time to heal; a time to break down, and a time to build up; a time to weep, and a time to laugh; a time to mourn, and a time to dance;” ‭‭Ecclesiastes‬ ‭3:1-4‬ ‭ESV‬‬
http://bible.com/59/ecc.3.1-4.esv

Leave a Reply

