stories, lessons, and a lot of nonsense

This is Jaxon, my two and a half year old son. Jax wants nothing more than to play with the ornaments at the top of the tree. After all, Sarah put the Hulk and Iron Man ornaments up there, out of his reach. They got moved, because they are Jakob’s, they are breakable, and Jaxon is at the stage in life where every toy in his left hand fights the toy in his right hand. Getting his hands on them would make him happy for about a minute, but they would break, he’d probably get glass in his hands, and Jakob would certainly cry. It’s just not a good idea. As his dad, I want to give him what he wants, but until he is mature enough to want things that are good for him, I’ll wait. I can’t give him the things that he wants that will inevitably hurt him.  I will give him what is best for him, so when the time comes that he wants what is best for him, I’ll give him what he wants.

This is the way it is with God, our Father.  Some would teach you that if you obey God, give to the church, follow Him, etc, God will give you what you want.  After all, the Bible says, “…He will give you the desires of your heart.”  The only thing worse than pulling a verse out of its context to make your point is pulling half a verse out of the context of the whole verse to make your point.  But people do it.  The whole verse, Psalm 37:4, is an if/then formula.  God will give you the desires of your heart if…  Here’s the context (Psalm 37:3-5 NLT):

3 Trust in the Lord and do good.
Then you will live safely in the land and prosper. 4 Take delight in the Lord,
and he will give you your heart’s desires. 5 Commit everything you do to the Lord.
Trust him, and he will help you.

God will give you the desires of your heart when you delight in Him.  Delighting in Him means delighting in His character, in His ways, in His blessings, and in His plans.  If my delight is in God and His plan for my life, then I will delight in what He gives me, regardless of what it is.  God does not conform what He wants and knowsnis best for me based on my desires. When I delight in Him, the desires of my heart are transformed to what He wants and knows is best for me.

God loves us, wants what is best for us, and wants to give us the desires of our hearts.  He will wait until we delight in Him, mature in our faith, and desire His plan for us to do so.

Comments on: "What we want isn’t always what we need" (1)

  1. Gayle Meskil said:

    I have heard so many say the same thing and wonder why thier desires are not meet
    I feel sorry for those who don’t read the whole chapter. They don’t understand what God will do for them if they follow God’s word and live their life accordingly.

Leave a Reply

