stories, lessons, and a lot of nonsense

On Sunday, Pastor Dave asked an important question. “Have you had a conversation lately with God?”  If you didn’t consider it then, consider it now. When was the last time you spoke to your kids about God?

Having faith conversations with our children is key to their growth in their faith. In Deuteronomy 6, we instructed to tell our children about God’s commandments. We’re supposed to discuss God as they are getting up, laying down for the night, and when we’re just journeying throughout our day. Most of what I knew about God growing up came from my parents’ doing this. I did learn stuff at church, but I’m glad what I learned at church paled in comparison to what I learned at home. Teach your kids the Bible, because through that they’ll learn Who God is, His character, His great love, and His expectations.

I think we should have more God conversations with our kids than just these, though. It is obviously important to tell them Who God is, but I think it’s also critical that we tell our kids what God has done and what He is doing. This will shape and sharpen their faith in ways you never imagined. They will begin to see God beyond the lessons, beyond the academic knowledge, and they will begin to see His reality. They will be aware of His presence, His protection, and His power.

I recently shared in church that God healed my ankle. For time, the video was edited. What I didn’t share was that it was so bad that I needed surgery. My chiropractor, my other doctor, and a massage therapist all agreed: my ankle was shot. The tendon between my ankle and knee was way too stretched, I had no structural integrity to it, so my ankle couldn’t support me. I prayed about getting the surgery I needed on it earlier this year. God said no, and though I was frustrated, I didn’t have the surgery. Fast forward to June 30, and I got my answer as to why. He didn’t want me to get surgery, because He planned to heal it. And He did!

I talked to Jakob about this. He kept wanting to race me around his school, but I kept putting him off, because my ankle couldn’t take it. When I came home, I told him about what God had done, and that I could finally run around with him. He was shocked. He never considered God’s ability to perform miracles, because He’d only heard about ones done in the past, before his time. Well, we raced, and he beat me. I can beat him in a sprint, but I do have asthma and some excess baggage, so I wasn’t going to beat him in a longer distance race. That night, he came up to me and asked, “Dad, do you still have your asthma?” I told him I did and explained it to him (i.e. it’s not something that just goes away on its own over time). Then he asked, “Can I pray for you, that God would heal you from your asthma?” Why did he ask me that? Because I shared with him what God had done, which gave him the faith to believe God hears and can heal.  I still have asthma, by the way, but now I also have a son who’s faithfully praying for God to heal me of it, because He believes God can and will. I’m praying with him.

“I will exalt you, my God and King, and praise your name forever and ever. I will praise you every day; yes, I will praise you forever. Great is the LORD! He is most worthy of praise! No one can measure his greatness.” Psalms 145:1-4 

Leave a Reply

